And now for the editing

Just a quick update for those of you on the edge of your seats. I have finished book one and down a couple rounds of editing. Right now I’m in the ‘fine-toothed comb’ stage, going chapter by chapter. I kind of see editing like going to the dentist: I put it off as long as I can, while trying to make the product as good as possible (regular teeth brushing), but it’s inevitable. I hate the appointment and the process and most of my anxiety comes before I even get in the chair, because once the drilling starts – as painstaking as the process could be – in the end I recognize the benefits. And I apologize if that metaphor is lost on anyone, because I really want the point of this blog to be me expressing thoughts without the monkey-on-my-back need to be perfect word-wise. All that to say that I think the editing is doing its job. To Gina and Louise, I want to send you an acceptable copy to read, preferably before July. I have sort of started book two, but chapter one scares me because it’s the scene I’ve been obsessing over since I first finished Buffy and Angel two and half years ago.

Leave a Reply

